Bhutan Committee of Secretaries reinstated | Security Risks Asia Made with Humane Club

Bhutan Committee of Secretaries reinstated

Published Jan 22, 2019
Updated May 26, 2020

The government officially reinstated the Committee of Secretaries (CoS) after four years today. Committee of Secretaries is an important institutional arrangement established to enhance good governance and promote transparency, accountability and efficiency.

The committee is comprised of the cabinet secretary and secretaries of the 10 ministries.

Prime Minister Dr Lotay Tshering shared that this decision will ensure that important policies are not undermined. Speaking at the inaugural session, Prime Minister said since most of the members are senior civil servants, their experience and advice would be helpful to the government.

“The only thing that’s needed in our country today is for all of us to work together aiming for a common goal, not only for a few years but for all times to come. People have entrusted the responsibility to lead the country with the government. And if the government doesn’t work together with the ministries and relevant agencies, it would be a great loss to the people and the country.”

The committee will meet once a week. They will ensure that the executive functions of the government and their views are implemented efficiently.

The CoS was dissolved by the former government after surrendering three secretaries, including the cabinet secretary to the Royal Civil Service Commission in 2014.